Planning areas


Finland’s territorial waters and economic zone are divided into three planning areas, for which eight coastal regions have planning responsibility. The Åland Islands will also compile a maritime spatial plan for its region.

Maritime spatial plans are strategic by nature. Their regional representation – the maritime spatial plan map – is constructed as a supplementary draft. The plan will be published in a digital format. In addition to the plan, a background map and thematic maps are available in the publishing service.